top of page

2023 Reviews

Review from Airbnb Guest

Date of stay

29 Sept - 1 Oct 2023

Paula and Darren were responsive, available, discreet, and very kind before and during our stay. The place is relaxing and incredibly quiet, these 2 days allowed us to recharge the batteries, the bedding is very good, the small touches are delicious as soon as we arrive and the place lends itself to lazing around and quiet leisure… Thanks again, you can go there without a second thought! 

Review from Airbnb Guest

Date of stay

21 - 23 Sept 2023

Nous avons passés 2 nuits ressourçantes et apaisantes dans le gîte de Paula et Daren. L’environnement est un gros plus, l’endroit est idéal pour se couper du monde et profiter de la nature. Les activités proposées permettent de se divertir sans avoir à prendre la voiture. Un grand merci pour ce séjour !

Review from WIX Guest

Date of stay

30 Aug - 10 Sept 2023

Our 5th visit and it is better than ever. We have been travelling to France for about 40 years and stayed in many gites. This is the BEST!

It has improved year on year and we cannot see what more we could want. 

We will be back!

So many thanks to Paula and Darren - you should be very proud of what you have achieved.

Review from Airbnb Guest

Date of stay

9 - 12 Aug 2023

Très bel endroit paisible avec plein d activités à disposition Paula est très réactive et très sympathique nous avons été accueillis par Darren en l absence de Paula et l accueil fut très chaleureux C est un havre de paix il y fait vraiment bon vivre Je recommande les yeux fermés Stéphanie

Review from Airbnb Guest

Date of stay

7 - 9 Aug 2023

Un endroit très agréable, au calme, où se ressourcer. Plein de choses à découvrir sur la propriété et les hôtes sont discrets mais très à l'écoute si besoin. Parfait !

Review from Airbnb Guest

Date of stay

2 - 6 Aug 2023

We spent four nights at Finders Keepers and it delivered a wonderfully peaceful and relaxing stay. We loved the facilities in the barn which kept us entertained when the weather was a bit unkind and were delighted to watch a Coype swimming down the lake. There is so much nature to see. Paula’s communication was superb and Darren was a brilliant host whilst we were there. If you want to really utilise and enjoy your accommodation, this is the place to be.

Review from Airbnb Guest

Date of stay

31 July - 2 Aug 2023

Sofort waren wir begeistert: Darren hat uns herzlich begrüßt und uns alles gezeigt. Das Haus ist mit vielen Details liebevoll und stilvoll eingerichtet, es fehlte an nichts, sodass wir uns augenblicklich wie zu Hause fühlten und traumhaft schlafen konnten. Auch die Küche ist gut ausgestattet, sogar mit Gewürzen. Nur für die Pfanne hätte ich gerne einen Deckel gehabt, den ich aber bestimmt bei Nachfrage bekommen hätte. Die Handtücher und die Bettwäsche sind wohl duftend und weich. Das Haus riecht gut. Den ersten Nachmittag haben wir am Pool und dann am See mit Bootfahren, Baden und Sonnen verbracht, das Abendessen im Sonnenuntergang auf der Terrasse am Feld genossen. Es gibt so viele schöne Möglichkeiten in Marcadis, dass zwei Nächte in der Unterkunft definitiv zu kurz sind! Hier findet man einen Urlaub für die Seele!

Review from Airbnb Guest

Date of stay

24 - 31  July 2023

Authenticité et sérénité . Si vous appréciez entendre le vent dans les arbres, le son des cigales et des abeilles, le tout au milieu d'une campagne aux couleurs éclatantes, vous adorerez le gite de Paula et Darren. C'est en tout cas le ressenti de mon fils et moi après une semaine passée fin août. Outre les nombreux jeux et divertissements proposés (billard, badminton, tir à l'arc, jeux de société,...), l'endroit est propice à l'abandon et aux découvertes. Les alentours méritent le détour. Apôtre du "slow life" Darren partage avec enthousiasme son mode de vie dans ce lieu unique qu'il façonne depuis 8 ans. Rien n' est à déplorer. Fonctionnelle et charmante, l'habitation reste fraiche même en l'absence de clim. La litrerie, un peu ferme, se fait vite oubliée. Pour cuisiner, tout l'équipement est prévu. Le wi-fi n a pas été oublié. Intemporel, loin des affres du quotidien, le gite de Paula et Darren est l'endroit parfait pour se ressourcer et se réenchanter.

Review from Airbnb Guest

Date of stay

20 - 24  July 2023

Ce séjour chez Daren et Paula fût enchanteur. Daren est un hôte chaleureux, disponible et discret. Nous avons été convié à boire un verre avec quelques uns de ses amis en toute simplicité dans la grange qu'il a rénové en lieu de loisirs et bar occasionnel. Le cadre est reposant et la nature y est préservée et les animaux respectés. Le logement est impeccable et très propre en plus d'avoir beaucoup de charme. Bref, réservez les yeux fermés si vous souhaitez vous ressourcer !

Review from Airbnb Guest

Date of stay

16 - 20  July 2023

Très bon séjour dans ce gîte où le calme règne.ment !

Review from Airbnb Guest

Date of stay

9 - 15 July 2023

Quel endroit et quels hôtes fantastiques ! Chez Darren et Paula, vous avez la certitude de pouvoir vous reposer tout en profitant d'un cadre naturel exceptionnel, de sites touristiques et gastronomiques magnifiques, d'activités diverses dans la propriété... Je recommande vivement !

Review from Airbnb Guest

Date of stay

28 June -  4 July 2023

Fantastic gite with so many lovely places to sit in sun or shade. If you love nature you will not be disappointed. Darren and Paula were fantastic hosts. Didn't want to leave.

Review from Airbnb Guest

Date of stay

20 - 27 June 2023

Quite the most unique stay we have ever enjoyed. Following the initial downpours, we've had exceptional weather enabling us to make the most of the wonderful facilities here. We've never stayed at a more peaceful and relaxing place. Towns and villages surrounding Marcadis are some of the most beautiful we have ever seen in France. Darren you have been most welcoming , generous and kind. Thank you for a great holiday 

Review from Airbnb Guest

Date of stay

18 - 20 June 2023

Merci beaucoup pour ce séjour apaisant et ressourçant, tout était parfait !!!

Review from WIX Guest

Date of stay

11 - 18 June 2023

This is our fourth stay at the Gite. Always feels like coming home. Our flight was delayed however, Darren was up and greeted us with a smile and a glass of wine, even though it was extremely late! Thank you Darren. Wonderful place to relax and unwind, we ventured out more on our visit this time and so glad we did, Darren recommend local places and restaurants - they didn’t disappoint. Another fabulous trip for us and thank you to both Darren and Paula for always going the extra mile for us. We will be back!!!

Review from Airbnb Guest

Date of stay

9 - 11 June 2023

 

We had a very pleasant stay at Paula's place and we'll return when we can! The place is quiet, surrounded with nature, and there are many comfy outdoor areas to enjoy. Great stay, we wish we'd taken one more day!

bottom of page